The Bronx High School of Science was founded in 1938 and began its academic programs with 400 male students under the leadership of Dr. Morris Meister, the founding principal, in a converted junior high school building on Creston Avenue. Its current location on 205th Street near Goulden Avenue was opened in 1959.  The current population is composed of 3000 competitively selected students.  Each year, some 26,000 eighth grade students take a competitive examination in order to gain admission to New York City’s specialized high schools.  Some 750 are admitted as freshmen at Bronx Science.  Throughout its history it has been a place where people with special intellectual abilities experience serious educational challenges and where many of them have responded to those challenges with extraordinary results, including: Eight Nobel Laureates, more than any other secondary school in the world;  Six Pulitzer Prize winners and seven who have won the National Medal of Science, the nation’s highest scientific honor. In 2008, U.S. News and World Report labeled it one of the best high schools in the United States and ranked it fourth on the list of America’s “Gold Medal” high schools.

In the year 2007, the NYCC launched a program that provides college scholarships to graduating members of the senior class at Bronx Science who have indicated an interest in pursuing studies in the sciences, mathematics, engineering, medicine and economics.  Each year the faculty works with the NYCC Board to select two recipients who are granted $5,000 per year scholarships for use at the colleges they will attend.  The scholarships are for four years and the students currently selected are remarkable in their achievements.

The winners for each of these awards are:

2018 – Maya Parness, Vanderbilt University; Batya Weiner, Johns Hopkins University

2017 – Harrison Giovanelli, University of Chicago; George Stefanakis, MIT

2016 – Madeline Abrahams, MIT;  Lucy Lee, Cornell University

2015 – Isabel Dipirro, Boston University; Theodota Kontopoulos, Duke University

2014 – Marco Cunqueiro, MIT;  Adnan Islam, New York University

2013 – Daniel Donenfeld, Cornell University; Ujwala Murthy, University of Michigan

2012 – Anthony Hagouel, Duke University;  Amela Rugova, George Washington University

2011 – Jane Belyavskaya, University of Michigan; Shunella Lumas, Harvard University

2010 – Daniel Suh, University of Pennsylvania; Richard Zhou, Johns Hopkins University

2009 – Diana Lu, New York University; David Shuster, Harvard University

2008 – Angela Choi, Yale University; David Morse, Carnegie Mellon University

2007 – Angela Lee, Yale University; Freeson Wang, Carnegie Mellon University

We’re delighted to participate in this program and wish these students and those who follow as scholarship winners, continued success.

Our Projects